top of page
Featured Posts


We congratulate the School Team: Eoin Horgan, Mark O'Shea, Padraig Murphy, T.J. Tierney (capt), Luke Hayes, Ian Sheehy, Zack Hayes & Sean O'Gorman. Coaches - Seamus Murphy & Tom O'Gorman.

Fantastic news came through to the parish last Wednesday, Granagh School's Soccer team became Munster Champions and will now go to play in the Aviva Stadium on May 31st. The SPAR FAI Primary School 5-a-side is a competition hosted by FAI Schools, which is an affiliate of the FAI. With nearly 24,000 children from 1,200 schools taking part, the 5-a-side is the most popular primary schools sporting event in the soccer calendar. The hugely popular competition is open to boys and girls in 4th, 5th and 6th class from primary schools across Ireland. The competition is organized on a County, Regional and Provincial basis, before the best schools take part in the SPAR FAI Primary School 5s National Finals in the Aviva. Granagh were representing Limerick, after winning all their games in the Limerick section, over three days, which were held in Seancoille, Corbally. April: In the 1st Round Qualifications, they met Herbertstown, St Michaels, Martinstown and Ballylanders. May: The team went on to play for the County Title and were up against - Tournafulla, Gerald Griffins and Templeglantine. Match Scores on the day were - Granagh 2 v Tournafulla 1. Granagh 4 v Gerald Griffin 0. Granagh 10 v Templeglantine 2. The Team were crowned Spar FAI Primary Schools County Champs. Following this, they went on to represent Limerick in the Spar FAI Primary Schools Munster Finals on the 10th May in Corinthians AFC, Cork. The following matches were played on the day: 1st Game: Granagh v Tankerstown (Tipperary) 3 -1. (scorers Sean O'Gorman 2 and Paudie Murphy 1). 2nd Game: Granagh v An Sean Phobal(Cork) 3-1. (scorers Paudie Murphy 2 and T.J. 1). Semi Final: Granagh v Trafrask (Cork) 3 - 1. (scorers Luke Hayes 1, Sean O'Gorman 1 and T.J. Tierney 1). In the Final then they came up against Tankerstown (Tipperary) again and the result was 4 goals to 2 , (scorers Paudie Murphy 2 , T.J. Tierney 1, Luke Hayes 1 ). Crowned Munsters Champs... and the Munster cup was presented to T.J. Tierney Captain.

Arrangements will have to be made to kit out the team, transport them to the Aviva, arrange meals etc, so I'm sure they will accept Donations if anyone wishes to sponsor them.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page