top of page

Knockfierna Golf Society.       Website:


Founded in 1992, Knockfierna Golf Society is a vibrant golfing organisation based in Ballingarry, County Limerick. Since its inception the society has grown significantly and now has over 90 members. During the year we have a monthly Saturday outing where typically 40 to 50 members will enjoy each others company at    one of the regions select golf courses before retiring to our "Clubhouse" Trainors Bar in Ballingarry, village for the evening  of prize giving and a nights entertainments. In addition to the monthly outings the Society also runs a popular matchplay tournament.


Angela Ryan's President's Prize:

President's Cup:            Declan Danaher.

Cat 1:    1st:                   Mossie O'Connor.

              2nd:                  Noel Mollowy.

Cat 2:     1st:                  James O'Connor.

Cat 3:     1st:                   Ger Murphy.

3rd Overall:                              Eddie O'Brien.

4th Overall & Best Gross:        Willie Molyneaux.

5 th Overall:                              John Sheahan.

Winner Front Nine:               Seamus Burke.

    "       Back Nine:                Seamus Stapleton.

Longest Drive:                       David Meehan.  


JUNE 2019:   Tippperary Outing:

Crispen Olivera Cup;  -   Noel Stapleton.

2nd Prize:                   -    Denis Noonan.

3rd                              -  Denis McCoy.

4th                              -  Davin Meehan

5th                              -  Liam Sheehy

6th                             -  Seamus Stapleton

7th                             -  Ger McCarthy.  

October 2018:   RESULTS:

Weekend Away to The Heritage Hotel in Tullamore:

1st Prize & Mike McCarthy Trophy   -   Tom Noonan, Kilmore.

2nd Prize  -         Liam Mackessy.

3rd Prize  -  Tess O'Shaughnessy.

5th Prize  -  Pat Herlihy.

6th            -   Jim Moore.

Category I  -  1st prize  -  Mossie O'Connor.

                       2nd pr    -  Stephen Stapleton.

Golfer of the Year Award  -  Eddie O'Brien.

Lady Golfer   ''      ''            -  Marie Noonan.

Front Nine Winner            -    Colm Kiely.

Best Gross                        -  Peter Healy.

                                                  Marian Noonan - 

                                              Charleville & Captain's Prize
                                               Winner 2017, with captain
                                                 Mary Cagney.

Officers 2017: 

President   :Mike O'Kelly.               Captain:    Mary Murphy Cagney.


Vice Captain:

Seamus Burke.                             Secretary:

                                                     Ger Murphy, Ballyroe, Ballingarry, Co. Limerick.




Liam Mackessy.                             P.R.O.      Jim Moore.

Handicap Sec.

Paddy Stuart Trainor assisted by 

Liam Fitzgerald & Gerard Murphy.


Committee: Marian Noonan; Liam Fitzgerald; Denis McCoy; Maria Noonan; Seamus Burke; Pat Spillane; Mary Cagney; Mossie O'Connor; Mike McCarthy; Noel Molloy, Donal McGoey; Steve Meskell; Pat Herlihy; Helen Cronin; Bernard Mackessy and Cecil Haskett.


NEWS  2016:

Congratulations to Maurice Meskil winner of our 4th Outing held in Ballykisteen Golf Club.

Full  results here.

Golfer of the Year page updated with Round 4 Results.

Mossie,Kevin & Marcus lead the Mens while Mary Cagney leads the ladies.

Matchplay down to last 16. Ties to be played before July 6th.

Best Wishes to our incoming Captain James O'Connor and his Vice Captain Mary Cagney.

Weekend Away Mount Wolseley.



Maurice O'Connor ( Captain 2016 ) & Denis Noonan ( Captain 2015 )
Maurice O'Connor (Captain 2016) & Denis Noonan (Captain 2015)
2015 Mens Golfer of the Year, Stephen Stapleton
2015 Lady golfer of the Year, Mary Liston 
bottom of page